Stubbington 10K

A stormy Sunday morning saw the Isle of Wight Road Runners out in force, with an impressive turn out of 30 officially registered runners and one superhuman junior, completing this fast and fairly flat 10K route. This is a HRRL event, so always well supported and was once again sold out.

2023 saw the introduction of a new route. A similar profile in terms of overall climb on the course. It still started and finished in the same place. although did spring a little surprise on those who held back a sprint finish, as the finish had an extra loop round the block so that sprint finish was just a little longer than some expected!

The first road runner back was speedster Tom Forster in an impressive chip time of 40:19, although that only tells part of the story. 2 minutes before Tom, his son Louis Forster had completed the course in an amazing 38:02 (PB). Louis is not listed officially here as he is still a junior, so has a few months to wait until he can complete his UKA registration. Great to have you with us today though Louis.

Just a few seconds behind Tom and 2nd home was Jonathan Bye, clocking one of only 4 PB’s today in 40:42. Just 6 seconds decided the race to be 3rd man home, with Matt Fletcher just edging out Guy Mattinson on chip time.

Trish Train led the girls home in 42:59, enough to secure the best age category position today for the IWRR with a 2nd place finish. Polly Segar was second for the girls. Zoe Sherwin was 3rd home and Carolyn Littleton continued her outstanding form with Zoe and Carolyn both clocking a chip time of 49:53.

A special mention for the other 2 Road Runner PB’s today, which were registered by our 2 debutants Amy Webster (01:07:06) and Michelle Wooldridge (01:07:22). Very well done ladies, the first of many I’m sure.

Well done everyone, it was great to see the club so well presented at this popular event. A large Road Runners outing like this means only one thing… a vibrant boat journey home, with every type of cake you could dream of!

Thomas Forster00:40:19
Jonathan Bye00:40:42PB
Matt Fletcher00:42:03
Guy Mattinson00:42:09
Garry Sharp00:42:56
Trish Train00:42:59
Steve Apsey00:44:33
Steve Bennett00:44:50
Kevin Rann00:45:18
Polly Segar00:47:52
Glen Jones00:49:05
Ian Dyer00:49:11
Carolyn Littleton00:49:53
Zoe Sherwin00:49:53
Darren Dollery00:51:52
James Shoulder00:54:37
Lisa Upstell00:55:21
Keith Ruth00:56:11
Charlotte Dollery00:56:27
Kevin Winchcombe00:56:33
Jane Andrew00:57:15
Sarah Sharp00:57:28
John Nelson01:00:53
Bridget Keyte01:02:43
Lucy DeVille01:02:51
Amy Webster01:07:06PB
Michelle Wooldridge01:07:22PB
Tanya Clifford01:15:40
Tracey Houdoire01:15:40
Lyn Snow01:24:33